What are the four major developmental areas of child development quizlet?

What are the 4 main areas of development?

Children grow and develop rapidly in their first five years across the four main areas of development. These areas are motor (physical), language and communication, cognitive and social/emotional.

What are the four categories of development?

The Four types of Development

  • Social Development.
  • Emotional Development.
  • Intellectual/Cognitive. Development.
  • Physical Development.
  • Child Development activities.

What are the five areas of child development quizlet?

Terms in this set (5)

  • Physical. – Growth of the body. – it’s abilities. …
  • Intellectual. learn to think, understand and reason and use language.
  • Emotional. – recognize and express feelings. – establish a personal identity.
  • Social. – learning how to interact. …
  • Morals. values, beliefs and attitudes about right and wrong.

What are the 4 areas of development Pies?

To help to make it easier to understand just what happens, we can look at it under the four PIES headings: physical, intellectual, emotional and social. These changes can be split into gross and fine motor skill development.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is 2 months too early for crib?

What are the 7 areas of development?

We’ll now take a brief look at each of these 7 areas and why they are important.

  • Communication and language development. …
  • Physical development. …
  • Personal, social, and emotional development. …
  • Literacy development. …
  • Mathematics. …
  • Understanding the world. …
  • Expressive arts and design.


What are the five main areas of development?

The Five Areas of Development is a holistic approach to learning that strives to break down the silos in education and ensure the development of a learner in all Five areas of Development – Cerebral, Emotional, Physical, Social and Spiritual.

What are the main areas of child development?

5 Main Areas of Child Development

  • cognitive development,
  • social and emotional development,
  • speech and language development,
  • fine motor skill development, and.
  • gross motor skill development.


What are the key areas of development?

7 Key employee development areas

  • Flexibility.
  • Communication skills.
  • Bonus: Conflict Resolution, Tactfulness, Work ethic.
  • Leadership Skills.
  • Organizational Skills.
  • Creativity Skills.
  • Bonus: Stress Management.


What are examples of physical development?

Physical development is a vital part of growing up as children learn to master control of their body; examples of physical development include sitting, crawling, standing and walking.

What are the two major influences on development?

10 Factors That Influence the Growth and Development of a Child

  • Heredity. Heredity is the transmission of physical characteristics from parents to children through their genes. …
  • Environment. …
  • Sex. …
  • Exercise and Health. …
  • Hormones. …
  • Nutrition. …
  • Familial Influence. …
  • Geographical Influences.


What is the concept and importance of development?

Development means “improvement in country’s economic and social conditions”. More specially, it refers to improvements in way of managing an area’s natural and human resources. In order to create wealth and improve people’s lives.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What should a 11 month old eat a day?

Why is it important to study children’s development quizlet?

to help you understand the act, feel and the things they do. to also help you understand the importance of caring for them them. to gain skills so you will have the knowledge to take care of the needs of children at each stage of development. to understand and find out hoew you yourself was developed.

What are the 3 areas of physical development?

Physical development is divided into fine motor skills and gross motor skills.

  • Human Growth & Development.
  • Physical Development.
  • Fine motor skills.
  • Gross motor skills.
  • Physical Development Activities.
  • Intellectual Development.
  • Emotional Development.
  • Social Development.

What does pies mean in child development?

I love the acronym PIES – Physical, Intellectual, Emotional, and Social Development.

What are the 7 stages of child development explain each stage?

These stages include infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, adolescence, early adulthood, middle adulthood and old age. Infancy is recognized as the stage of life from a human ‘s birth up until he or she learns how to speak: generally until the age of one or two.

Your midwife